The Plaid Apron makes traditional southern cuisine with twist [4/5 stars]

20140529-131548-47748505.jpg20140529-131552-47752778.jpg

Being a student in Knoxville has been such an amazing experience. I’ve gotten to eat at some of the most amazing places with not only great food, but great memories made there. I’m always on the lookout for places to eat with friends. That’s why when a friend posted about how great The Plaid Apron was I knew that I had to try it for myself.

The cafe is fairly small with a rustic laid-back kind of feel. The paintings on the walls were of farm scenes and even had some cow portraits that made me giggle. The service is self serve or at least it was at lunch. You go to the counter and order your food then, have a seat. So far the cafe met my basic expectations. But when I tried the food I found that their food was better than the average cafe.

I ordered the Southern Chicken Club, which even sounds ordinary, however it was anything but that. Seared chicken thigh with Benton’s Bacon, braised local collard greens, and garlic aioli on toasted ciabatta bread it was like the world’s most southern sandwich. The collard greens gave the sandwich a nice bitterness while the aioli complimented all the ingredients very nicely. The chicken was seasoned to perfection and was so tender. While my sandwich was out of this world I was extremely disappointed in my side which was supposed to be roasted red potatoes, but turned out to be raw tasteless hard potatoes. I was sad that the meal had a drawback that could’ve easily been prevented.

Overall, my sandwich was amazing and the potato ordeal wasn’t enough to make me never want to come back. The Plaid Apron has peculiar hours and only serve dinner at the end of the week. Their dinner menu is completely different so, I’m definitely planning on giving it a try one day.
The Plaid Apron on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

