Cafe Du Monde: All the hype was accurate [5 out of 5 stars]

20130724-100017.jpg  When planning my trip to New Orleans it was obvious I HAD to have beignets and coffee for breakfast at Cafe Du Monde. We headed to the cafe from our hotel on foot and by the time we found ourselves standing in the long line eagerly awaiting our breakfast we were drenched in sweat. That’s the first time I ever wanted to drink hot coffee when it was over 100 degrees outside. I’m sure my friend thought I was nuts (she opted for the ice coffee). Personally, I chose it because I wanted to experience the authenticity of the coffee, but also I wanted the souvenir mug. What can I say? I’m a sucker for souvenir cups. Either way I wasn’t disappointed. The coffee was strong and as you can see I had to add a lot of sugar. After all that it was an amazing cup of Joe. Seriously, the perfect partner to the crisp fluffy doughnut pillows that were their famous beignets. It really was a glorified doughnut and coffee breakfast. The kind that only a trip to New Orleans could provide. So, the hype was true. The heat is worth it, in New Orleans you NEED to go get you some beignets and coffee. You’ll be glad you did. <3

Café Du Monde on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

